Veteran driver wins the inaugural Iron Brigade 100

Rob Lee – Journal Review – Journal Review Online


CLERMONT — A veteran was a rookie at Lucas Oil Raceway Saturday evening, but Bill Prietzel used his veteran ways to win the inaugural Iron Brigade 100.

The former Mid-American Stock Car Series champion and current runner up took the lead from Advance Racing Association driver Tim Salyers on Lap 43 during the co-sanctioned event and led the rest of the way in his first visit to the famed facility.

That completed a clean sweep for the West Allis, Wis. pilot. He also was the $100 Tri-County Plumbing Fast Qualifier and won the $250 bonus for leading the Meineke Car Care Center Halfway Challenge.

By the way, he won on his 40th wedding anniversary.

“These ARA guys are tough drivers,” Prietzel said. “We had a little better set up and we even changed it at the halfway stop.”

Salyers stayed close before falling back at the end.

“We ran out of driver and ran out of racecar at the end,” he said.“We picked up a push, but it was a good finish.”

“The last 15 laps I eased off a bit because I didn’t see anybody in my mirror,” Prietzel said. “We really enjoyed this. I don’t feel too bad, but a little tired.”

Bret Widdis, Mark Pluer and Michael Lange, all MASCS competitors, rounded out the Top Five. Teenage sisters Claire and Paige Decker were the last two cars on the lead lap in sixth and seventh.

Current MASCS leader James Swan took the point from early leader Lange on Lap 20. Salyers beat him on a Lap 39 restart when Lange brushed the wall. Swan had to retire when his engine expired on Lap 63.

The race was slowed just three times by caution. Actually, the race never started clean as a spinning Salyers collected four others in turn three right after the green flag flew. One of those was defending ARA Champion Keith Lyons, who was done for the night.

Three-quarters of the starting field was inverted from qualifying, giving 16th fast qualifier Michael Cline the pole and Prietzel started in the eighth row.

Prietzel circled in 24.426 seconds and 100.105 miles per hour in qualifying.

A pair of defending champions won in other classes.

Scotty Tomasik of Avon won the PXP Racewear Modified feature. Joe Axsom, Rodney Cropper, Don Skaggs and Harold Johnson came next.

Steve Blair took the MC2 Home Inspections Pro Truck finale over John Wicks, A.J. Ridner, Bradley Harrington and Ben Parke.

The ARA is next in action Aug. 20 at LOR.

Following are results from the Iron Brigade 100 Advance Racing Association/Mid-American Stock Car Series racing Saturday at Lucas Oil Raceway of Indianapolis.

ARACline Grain/MASCS Late Models

Iron Brigade 100 — 1. Bill Prietzel, West Allis, Wis., 100 laps 2. Tim Salyers, Clayton, 100 3.Bret Widdis, Manistique, Mich., 100 4. Mark Pluer, Brookfield, Wis. 100 5. Michael Lange, West Allis, Wis. 100 6. Claire Decker, Eagle River, Wis. 100 7. Paige Decker, Eagle River, Wis. 100 8. Lyle Nowak, Wausall, Wis. 99 9. Jeremy Spoonmore, Somonauk, Ill. 98 10. Matt Plyburn, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. 67 11. James Swan, Genoa City, Wis. 63 12. Nathan Long, Edinburgh 55 13. Michael Cline, New Ross 51 14. Danny Church, Big Bend, Wis. 40 15. Jake Gibson, Indianapolis 40 16. Travis Rodewald, Manitowoc, Wis. 29 17. Rick Tackman, Jr., Waukesha, Wis. 35 18. Josh Cave, Brownsburg, 29 19. Ryan Farrell, East Troy, Wis. 18 20. A.J. Smith, Danville, 1 21. Keith Lyons, Brownsburg, 0

Fast qualifier — Prietzel, 24.426 seconds, 100.105 miles per hour

MC2 Inspections Pro Trucks

Feature (10 laps) — 1. Steve Blair, Brownsburg 2. John Wicks, Ypsilanti, Mich. 3. A.J. Ridner, Danville 4. Bradley Harrington, Crawfordsville 5. Ben Parke, Jamestown.

Dash (4 laps) — 1. Ridner 2. Harrington 3. Parke

Fast qualifier – Blair, 25.360, 97.382

PXP Racewear Modifieds

Feature (30 laps) — 1. Scotty Tomasik, Avon 2. Joe Axsom, Avon 3. Rodney Cropper, Muncie 4. Don Skaggs, Modoc 5. Harold Johnson, Flora 6. Steve Blair, Brownsburg 7. Terri Popielarz, Brownsburg 8. Joe Jennings, Richmond 9. Chris Jennings, Richmond 10. Darrin Bowman, Ambia 11. Damon Breedlove, Greenfield 12. Herbie Johnson, Delphi 13. Chris Tomasik, Avon 14. Jim Begley, Franklin; did not start – Herb Johnson, Albert Orr, Toby Cooper.

1st Heat (6 laps) — 1. Herb Johnson 2. Skaggs 3. S. Tomasik 4. Breedlove

2nd Heat (6 laps) — 1. Blair 2. C. Tomasik 3. C. Jennings 4. Bowman

Fast qualifier – Axsom, 23.890, 103.37


About MC2 Home Inspections

MC2 Home Inspections has been proudly serving and protecting home buyers since 2007. All inspectors are certified, licensed (where applicable) and insured for your protection. We are full time home inspectors available 7 days a week for all of your residential home inspection needs. Call today to schedule your inspection 303-688-0912.
This entry was posted in auto racing, automotive racing, indianapolis, indianapolis events, indianapolis racing, indy racing, late models, lucas oil raceway, modifieds, motor sports, nascar, oreily raceway, oval track, pro truck, race track, race tracks, racing series, stock car racing, stock cars, truck racing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.